Basque, Catalan, Galician official languages of the European Union?

The European Union has 24 official languages used for official communications, the official languages designated by each of the 27 countries.

These are the following languages

German, English, Bulgarian, Croatian, Danish, Spanish, Estonian, Finnish, French, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Swedish and Czech Since the departure of the Union of the United Kingdom, English remains official language of the Union because of its designation by Ireland and Malta;

These two countries have also designated as official languages Irish/Gaelic and Maltese, languages with a limited number of speakers; This symbolic recognition makes all the more visible Spain’s non-designation of Basque, Catalan and Galician when its three languages have official language status in the autonomous communities and have just been authorized in the national Parliament.

It is not surprising that in the search for a majority which cannot be built without a certain number of autonomist deputies, the transitional Prime Minister Pablo Sanchez has launched a symbolic process for the recognition of Basque, Catalan and Galician as languages officials of the European Union.

This article is originally published on

Electric Scooter XElectric Scooter XElectric Scooter XElectric Scooter X


Related articles

The European Commission’s plan to boost innovation and competitiveness in Europe

Ursula von der Leyen has just been reappointed president...

Belgium singled out by the European Commission

The European Commission announced on Thursday that it would...

SG Nguyên Phu Trong’s decisions strengthen national and international confidence

Uch Leang, president of the Cambodian Alumni Association in...
Electric Scooter X